Over on SBCIssues I posted a comment on this post that follows the same general line as one of my earlier posts here (i.e. this one).

Basically, my assertion is that the proliferation of Calvinism of recent is “thanks to the first chapter of The Purpose Driven Life which was nothing but an indoctrination session into the Calvinistic view that God has pre-scripted everything.”

I say this, of course, because on page 31, Rick Warren writes “God left no detail to chance.”  (I quote more of it in both places.)

Now, I am told in response that this is correct.  The owner of the blog asserts that this is right, without using the terminology directly.  Another commenter named rhutchin repeats “nothing that happens is left to chance.”

But the Bible explicitly says that stuff does happen by chance!

Ecclesiastes 9:11 “I returned, and saw under the sun, that the race is not to the swift, nor the battle to the strong, neither yet bread to the wise, nor yet riches to men of understanding, nor yet favour to men of skill; but time and chance happeneth to them all.

Its amazing to me that modern Protestantism is being built on a foundation of absolute blind determinism that denies both freewill and chance, both of which are affirmed by the Bible.

It amazes me, not because its amazing that some would dare teach a false doctrine.  It amazes me because this particular doctrine is simply absolutely absurd.  Of course there is both freewill and chance.  There has to be.  To assert otherwise is to assert that nothing is real: it is nihilism.

