In Gnosticism there are two gods.

(1) The ultra-transcendant God who didn’t create, who is viewed as superior for his non-doing of anything. This God is viewed as “good” by the Gnostics because he takes a liberal Leftist “can’t punish the bad guys” approach.

(2) The Demiurge, or Maker/Creator God. This is the practical God who punishes evil-doers, or commands humans to do so or suggests to humans that they should do so (however you want to look at it).

Gnostic Christianity sees the breakdown here as basically that the Ultra-Transcendant God is the God of the New Testament and the Demiurge the God of the Old Testament. The purpose of Jesus was (according to them) to purchase us from the Demiurge so we could escape the world to the never-never-land of the Ultra-Transcendant Leftist God.

Obviously some of this is left over in orthodox Christianity. Although Christians say that the God of the Old Testament and God of the New Testament are the same God and there is only one God, the common Christian concept of God devalues the Demiurge aspect of this God, devalues this world, and preaches up the never-never-land and the Ultra-Transcendant “goodness” notion of non-punishing (i.e. whether it be freely forgiving the worst of criminals via “grace” or some even worse Leftist nonsense).

For this reason, I’m beginning to think I should associate my religious belief to the other side. I’ve studied Gnosticism for years, since I was 16 or so when I first started reading the church fathers, and obviously I studied the Bible and Christianity for much longer than that, my entire life.  And ultimately the conclusion I’ve come to is I like the Demiurge. The Demiurge, the punisher of evil who takes names and kicks ass is better than some fluffy marshmellow Leftist God.  You don’t have to be a reverse-Gnostic to see that; i.e. you don’t have to say there are two Gods, the Ultra-transcendant and the Demiurge and contrary to other Gnostics I’m going with the Demiurge.  Rather, as a Monotheist, you can believe the Demiurge concept of God rather than the Ultra-transcendant or Leftist notion of God.  People who in a way have more of an affinity to the Old Testament or some part of it, maybe only the Torah, really are simply monotheists to whom the Demiurgic notion of God (God as maker of heaven and earth who defends his creation by kicking the bad guys’ asses occasionally) has more appeal, or they have more affinity with this concept than with liberal Pussy God notion of a God who can’t smite a rapist because of some Leftist notion that all life is sacred even that of a rapist.  I’m noticing more and more that the older I get (I’m in my mid thirties), the more I realize that Christianity is based on this Leftist Pussy God ideal which ultimately is a leftover of Gnosticism.  Other religions also, like modern Judaism and Buddhism are based on this.  Buddhism is atheistic, but if it did have a God it would be the Leftist Pussy God who can’t punish sinners which the Gnostics preached.

In looking for a term, therefore, to describe my religious views, I’ve recently been at a loss. Deist seems the closest as far as existing terms, but it is lacking something. Because many Deists are Leftist Pussy God believers who rejected Christianity because the kick-ass God of the Old Testament triggers their manstruation and overflows their manpons.  But for me, the manly ass-kicking God who occasionally intervenes in the world not to give a bullshit revelation (in that sense I’m a Deist) but to kick ass and right the wrongs of the world (like recently making sure Trump won the election), that’s my kind of God.  So I supposed I’m looking for a term derived from the word Demiurge that can be combined with Deism: Demiurgic Deist perhaps?

